While out with my friend the other day, we got to taking about our party days. 2 years ago we were out every other week and 5 years ago I would quite literally party all weekend. I loved it from the moment I started to get ready, there was an anticipation of the night. Choosing an outfit, putting on the makeup that will inevitably wear off. Even the dullest nights could be made to be great with the addition of a good few shots. I remember getting home and kicking off the heels, while stumbling to the kitchen to get a drink of water. the buzz in my ears, a nice reminder of the music that I danced the night away too.

The conversation was about how we just can't do it anymore. Even the mere though of staying up past 2 is tiring. I still love to get ready and choose outfits, and its not like I will never step food in a club again, I just feel that its too much now. I would much rather go out for a meal and a few drinks or have a girls night in with movies and munchies, other than the party alternative.

I don't think that choosing to stay home or have a quieter evening is something that happens only as you get older, I have a few older friends who never say no to a night out, and have stamina for dancing that I have never had. I think I just feel as that I have done it for the last 10 years, therefore is its now time to have a quiet 10 years before my midlife crisis hits and I will , no doubt, attempt to recapture my youth.

Am I gong to grieve over the loss of my party life - No. I had so much fun, made lots of friends, drank lots of alcohol, spilt lots of drinks, broke loads of tights, ruined shoes, danced til it hurt, sang til my voice was spent, laughed, smiled and spent more money than I'd care to admit, but ultimately made lots of great memories.



Leave a Reply.